bukowski

Bluebird

there’s a bluebird in my heart that
that wants to get out
but I’m too tough for him,
I say, stay in there, I’m not going
to let anybody see
you.

there’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I pour whiskey on him and inhale
cigarette smoke
and the whores and the bartenders
and the grocery clerks
never know that
he’s
in there.

there’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I’m too tough for him,
I say,
stay down, do you want to mess
me up?
you want to screw up the
works?
you want to blow my book sales in
Europe?

there’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I’m too clever, I only let him out
at night sometimes
when everybody’s asleep.
I say, I know you’re there,
so don’t be
sad.
then I put him back,
but he’s singing a little
in there, I haven’t quite let him
die
and we sleep together like
that
with our
secret pact
and it’s nice enough to
make a man
weep, but I don’t
weep, do
you?

*

The Aliens

you may not believe it
but there are people
who go through life with
very little
friction of distress.
they dress well, sleep well.
they are contented with
their family
their life.
they are undisturbed
and often feel
very good.
and when they die
it is an easy death, usually in their sleep.

you may not believe
it
but such people do
exist.

but I am not one of
them.
oh no, I am not one of them,
I am not even near
to being
one of
them.
but they are there

and I am
here.

*

we can’t cheat death but we can make it
work so hard
that when it does take
us

it will have known a victory just as
perfect as
ours.

*

I met a genius on the train
today
about 6 years old,
he sat beside me
and as the train
ran along the coast
we came to the ocean
and he looked at me
and said
it’s not pretty.

It was the first time I’d
realized that.

*

so you see:
my life wasn’t
useless
after
all.

 

